The Grand Hotel was built at 325 W Milwaukee in 1879 by Mr. David Jeffris to replace the old Williams House (previously known as the Borden House). The Williams House burned in 1877.
The Grand opened to the public January 1, 1880 with 75 rooms were available for the traveling public. At this location the hotel was easily accessible from the nearby train stations.
In this photo the trees have grown creating a park-like experience on the High Street side of the hotel and automobiles are now the fashion.
In 1945 Mrs. Anna McNeil was honored on her 82nd birthday. She had been a hotel proprietor for 54 years having operated both the Grand and Myers Hotels in Janesville.
4×6, 5×7, 8×10, 11×14, 16×20, 24×36